Logan

In the not too distant future, something is wrong with Wolverine. He isn’t healing the way he used to, and now the government has outlawed mutants he and Professor X hide out somewhere along the Mexican border. However, when a mutant child is thrust upon Logan he must decide what kind of a man he is.

 

Many have likened the 15 rated nature of Logan to that of Deadpool last year. And while both are clearly not the usual superhero fare, Logan is far far darker. Deadpool is extremely crude and on the face of it quite violent, but the violence doesn’t really mean anything. In Logan though, you feel every single blow. It’s a genuinely brutal watch and it genuinely isn’t like any superhero film I’ve ever seen.

 

Hugh Jackman has never been better as Wolverine. He has always been excellent, but hasn’t always had an especially large amount of work to do. Logan gives him that platform to show what he can really do and boy do we feel it. Logan is the most emotional Superhero film I’ve seen, by quite some distance. This is thanks to Jackman’s career defining performance. Elsewhere Patrick Stewart delivers an uncharacteristically fragile performance as the dementia stricken Professor X.

 

If I have one niggle it’s that the action scenes can tend to verge slightly too much on the Bourne side of editing rather than the John Wick side. I’m not talking anything distracting, just occasionally I would’ve liked longer takes and for the cam to be less shaky. But then I feel like this is more John Wick’s fault for showing everyone else up rather than Logan.

 

To be perfectly honest, I was really blown away by the sheer emotional power of Logan. I think back to a couple of years ago when they announced there would be a third (after Wolverine origins and the Wolverine) standalone Wolverine movie, and rolling my eyes through the back of my head. Little did I know that Logan would be the best superhero movie since The Dark Knight. I must warn you I don’t think Logan is for the feint hearted, it can be genuinely heavy going. But it remains one of my favourite movies from this year, and the last couple of years.

 

9/10

Leave a Reply

