Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2

Coming straight off the back of one of their adventures, the gang find themselves with a broken ship stranded on some planet. However help soon arrives, in the form of Kurt Russell claiming to be Chris Pratt’s dad. Various well-sound tracked space shenanigans follow.

 

Ok so disclaimer first of all, I don’t like the first Guardians of the Galaxy as much as everyone else apparently does. I think it’s a decent enough edition to the MCU with a typically poor marvel villain and too much cgi. So coming into this second “volume” I was expecting just more of the same really. And to be honest that’s pretty much what I got< only this time I didn’t have armies of people telling me how amazing it was for months beforehand. As such I actually enjoyed it probably more than I did the first film, despite it probably being a slightly worse movie.

 

In terms of plot, Guardians 2 – much like the first instalment – is scattershot to put it politely. There are all together too many villains, and not like henchmen that work for a bigger main antagonist, there are like four separate antagonists all working to their own agenda. This leads to the story losing coherency at times. The film is never not enjoyable, the soundtrack and the continuing humour ensure that it is always fun even when you aren’t entirely sure what’s happening.

 

Occasionally the constant strive for jokes, somewhat sabotages character and plot development. Certain choice jokes don’t quite fit in, and though while funny you kind of feel like they shouldn’t be. On the whole though the humour is very successful. Interactions between the characters are just inherently funny, and much to my delight Drax takes on a bigger role in this second movie.

 

What surprised me most about this film though, was that it actually managed to handle the emotional denouement really rather well. Now I won’t give away what this was, but I do wonder how much the fact that it emotionally spoke to me was because of the script, or simply the use of Cat Stevens. Point still stands though, I cried during Guardians of the Galaxy volume 2.

 

Overall, it’s probably not as good as the first Guardians. But I personally thought the first one was majorly overhyped and so have always been a tad down on it, whereas this one hasn’t been hyped that much really and I rather enjoyed it.

 

7/10

Leave a Reply

