Jason Bourne

Ten years after whatever happened in the Bourne Ultimatum happened (I can’t remember) that woman who was in the films (Julia Stiles) brings up some more stuff about the programme Bourne (Matt Damon) used to be a part of. Then Bourne gets chased a bunch. Oh yeah and there’s some kind of social media storyline thing as well with Riz Ahmed.

 

I’m going to level with you I’m not really sure what the plot to Jason Bourne was. What I do know is that he gets chased a whole lot and that yet again this Bourne film is pretty much the same as all the other ones. I maintain the Bourne film that you’ll like the most is the one you watch first – could be this one, who knows, in many ways you get to decide.

 

As you may or may not remember Brian Cox died in one of the other films, so now we have Tommy Lee Jones as the haggard old CIA boss who’s a bit corrupt. And as I certainly didn’t remember Julia Stiles isn’t on the CIA’s side any more so now we have Alicia Vikander instead. And in each of the films the unstoppable hitman called “The Asset” gets stopped so now we have Vincent Cassel as “The Asset”. New faces same film.

 

I may be coming across as completely down on this film, but it’s not terrible. It’s just not terribly good. The chase sequence is fine but I feel like I preferred it the first three times I saw it in the other Bourne films. The other chase sequence is fine but I feel like I preferred it the first three times I saw it in the other Bourne films, and the other chase sequence is fine but I feel like I preferred it the first three times I saw it in the other Bourne films.

 

I still have a problem with the shaky cam approach to fight scenes as personally I’ve always preferred seeing what is happening and not feeling sick while watching films. This remains a problem for me here. I also still have a problem with how much of a complete blank slate Bourne’s character is, he just ends up getting eclipsed by Tommy Lee Jones and Alicia Vikander even though all Jones is doing is sighing most of the time. Actually for me Bourne seemed to be far less interesting even than he was before. There is none of the expertly beating people up whilst looking confused the whole time which was fairly interesting in the first two.

 

Overall, I can’t really recommend Jason Bourne. If you love the other three you’ll probably like this, but if it’s the fourth one you watch chances are it’ll be your fourth favourite.

 

5/10

Leave a Reply

