Bad Neighbours 2: Sorority Rising

Seth Rogen and Rose Byrne are attempting to move house and all is going swimmingly, until they realise that in America there is this “In Escrow” system in which before moving out there is a 30 day period where the new buyers can come past to inspect the house to make sure nothing has changed. Of course during this period a Sorority moves into the house next door with the sole intention of holding crazy parties for women to counter the “super rapey” fraternity parties.

 

So I haven’t seen the first Neighbours but I thought I’d give this a go, and you know what my expectations were low but it’s actually ok. It’s not especially funny, though Zac Efron does have his moments, but I really liked the progressiveness of the gender politics.

 

I’m not a particularly big Seth Rogen fan and this has done nothing to change that. He is the same as he always is and to be honest for me he kind of fell to side when compared to Zac Efron and Chloe Grace Moretz. Chloe Grace Moretz is a great screen presence, but she just doesn’t have any zingers really. I think she does her best with what isn’t a great script, but really Zac Efron gets all of the best lines and as a result he really steals the film. It’s very pleasant to see him return to form after the dismal Dirty Grandpa.

 

The joke conversion rate in Bad Neighbours 2 is fairly shocking, I laughed maybe five times which is ok on its own but when you consider the film is trying to throw gags at you every minute it doesn’t hold up so well. However it is genuinely quite progressive in its treatment of the sorority and that is something I completely did not expect from a Rogen film. To be honest I was probably so blindsided by this that I forgot how subpar the rest of the film was.

 

But overall, if you have nothing else better to do you might as well see this when it comes out on demand, I wouldn’t pay for it.

 

5/10

Leave a Reply

