Oscar Predictions 2016

Greetings all, just now the Oscar nominations for the year 2015 were announced and here I am to guide you through it all and give some predictions. Last year I managed to correctly predict 7/16 which is not fantastic, so let’s see if I can do better this year.

 

Cinematography

Carol

The Hateful Eight

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Revenant

Sicario

 

I think that no matter how good the cinematography in The Revenant is, Lubezki will not win three times in a row. So I think due to the interesting ratio and format The Hateful Eight is going to clinch it, oh and also because it’s spectacular.

 

Costume

Carol

Cinderella

The Danish Girl

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Revenant

 

This for me is going to start the landslide of victories I think Mad Max is going to get from the “smaller” awards.

 

Animated Film

Anomalisia

Boy and the World

Inside Out

Shaun the Sheep Movie

When Marnie was there

 

Inside out has to win this. Many thought it could possibly win the overall award but because (Spoilers) it’s not even been nominated for best picture surely it has to win this?

 

Supporting Actor

Christian Bale (The Big Short)

Tom Hardy (The Revenant)

Mark Ruffalo (Spotlight)

Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies)

Sylvester Stallone (Creed)

 

I know Sly won the Globe, but let’s not forget that the Oscars do actually have some prestige connected to them. It’ll be Rylance. Also where the hell is Idris Elba?

 

Supporting Actress

Jennifer Jason Leigh (The Hateful Eight)

Rooney Mara (Carol)

Rachel McAdams (Spotlight)

Alicia Vikander (The Danish Girl)

Kate Winslet (Steve Jobs)

 

This is a really tough one to call. I’m going to go with Rooney Mara, but I think Vikander should win it.

 

Visual Effects

Ex Machina

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Martian

The Revenant

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

 

Everyone knows Mad Max will win this.

 

 

Production Design

Bridge of Spies

The Danish Girl

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Martian

The Revenant

 

There will be no surprises here.

 

 

Original Score

Bridge of Spies

Carol

The Hateful Eight

Sicario

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

 

The Hateful Eight is the pick of the above scores for me. And also Ennio Morricone has never won an American award, a glaring oversight I doubt the Oscars will let stand any longer.

 

Director

Adam McKay (The Big Short)

George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)

Alejandro G. Inarritu (The Revenant)

Lenny Abrahamson (Room)

Tom McCarthy (Spotlight)

 

I just feel like George Miller is going to grab this. Mad Max won’t win the overall award, but the Oscars want to seem hip.

 

Actress

Cate Blanchett (Carol)

Brie Larson (Room)

Jennifer Lawrence (Joy)

Charlotte Ramping (45 Years)

Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)

 

For me this is between Cate and Brie with Saoirse as the dark horse. But I think Brie Larson will get it in the end.

 

Actor

Bryan Cranston (Trumbo)

Matt Damon (The Martian)

Leonardo di Caprio (The Revenant)

Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs)

Eddie Redmayne (The Danish Girl)

 

Will this be the year Leo gets his Oscar? Well it’s now or never in my opinion. He really doesn’t face that much opposition. Eddie isn’t very good, Michael is probably fantastic but the Oscars don’t seem to be mad about Steve Jobs, Matt Damon is ordinary and Bryan Cranston is only here because of Breaking Bad.

 

Film

The Big Short

Bridge of Spies

Brooklyn

Mad Max: Fury Road

The Martian

The Revenant

Room

Spotlight

 

To be honest I’m a little underwhelmed by the offerings this year. Last year there were 3 10/10s out of the 8. But this year I can’t see any. Admittedly I haven’t yet seem Brooklyn, Room or the Revenant. But I doubt all of them will be 10/10s. I guess Spotlight will win because the Oscars are boring like that. Here’s hoping for Mad Max though.

 

Well that was another overwhelmingly white list of nominations and a kind of unconvincing list of best films for me. But there are my predictions, join me again when the actual awards are announced and we’ll see how well/badly I do.

Leave a Reply

