Star Wars: The Force Awakens [Spoiler Free!]

Thirty years after the Empire was defeated by the rebel forces a new force now threatens the galaxy. Rising from the ashes of the Empire the First Order are a dark force led by the shrouded Kylo Ren who seek to re-attain complete control over the galaxy. The Resistance must destroy the First Order’s new superweapon before it is too late.

 

 

In case there was any doubt, it is brilliant. But for me the most overwhelming feeling was that of satisfaction. It fulfils my expectations completely and I went in honestly expecting a little too much from this film. It very rarely makes false moves and when it does they are surrounded by fantastic bits that cover it. I’ll talk about these missteps later on. As a Star Wars fan it could definitely said that I’m more willing just to like whatever film they made just because it involves the millennium falcon, I mean I really like the Phantom Menace and I’m not ashamed of it. But there is a difference between me plain liking a film, and me acknowledging how “good” a film is. The Phantom Menace is not a “good” film, but I love it because I first watched it when I was 5 and it contains Darth Maul – the coolest character in the entire star wars franchise. But I don’t just love the Force Awakens, it’s also a “good” movie. On a technical level I’d put it up there with Empire Strikes Back and probably above A New Hope to be honest.

 

As I mentioned I think there are some missteps. I think there are a few characters who are definitely underutilised. And there is one action sequence that while I enjoyed I just thought could have been better. But there is just so much to love about this film. The Force Awakens is definitely the best acted Star Wars film yet. The prequels I actually thought were as well acted as the poor dialogue would allow, especially Ewan McGregor who bore the brunt of the rubbish lines. Although of course they did contain the abomination that is Hayden Christiansen whom I personally think is the worst part of all the prequels (that’s right worse than Jar Jar). But everyone involved in the Force Awakens is terrific. Newcomers John Boyega (Moses from Attack the Block) and Daisy Ridley (whom has been in virtually nothing before this) are both superb and instantly settle into the rhythm of the film and are the two main emotional reasons you connect so well with the film. However I think Adam Driver is the standout performer from this film. Elsewhere Domhall Gleeson and Oscar Isaac are other standouts.

 

If you like any Star Wars film, you are going to love this. And you know what if you don’t like any Star Wars films you just might love this one any way. Fantastic stuff.

Leave a Reply

