Minions

The minions after millions of years of attempting to find a solid boss to work for have been shunned into exile inside a cave. However one minion in particular has a plan: to go outside and not return until he has secured a solid boss to work for. Kevin takes with him Stuart and little Bob and the three of them travel across land and sea to eventually end up in America. And then a couple of coincidences occur meaning that they decide the Sandra Bullock voice supervillain Scarlet Overkill shall be their new boss.

I’m probably not the best person to review this movie. I have never liked minions. I had no opinion on them in Despicable Me and they irritated me in Despicable Me 2. I am also not 6. So here we go, this is how I found the movie aimed less at me than any other release this year.

You know what, I didn’t mind it. I mean I still don’t really like the minions. I don’t find the babble funny I don’t understand their hype. But I did laugh during the movie. Admittedly not actually at the minions, but around them there are some actual jokes. John Hamm is particularly funny as Herb Scarlet Overkill’s hippy boyfriend.

But Minions surprise best feature is its soundtrack. Filled to the brim with slabs of 60’s brilliance. We go from The Turtles through The Rolling Stones then stopping off at the Spencer Davis Group, The Kinks, The Doors, Jimi Hendrix and The Who before finishing with The Beatles and Donovan. Without this soundtrack I don’t think I would even like this movie. But I actually quite enjoyed it just because whomever was choosing the tracks has impeccable taste.

It’s not a great movie though, obviously it doesn’t really have any characters because the whole point of the minions apparently s that they don’t have characters. Unless in making one of them smaller than the others they thought they were giving them personalities. But there are enough jokes that work to nearly cover this up. And of course there isn’t really a plot. But children will love it. As will adults that like the minions (apparently there a quite a lot of them). I didn’t think it was that great, but I loved the soundtrack.

6/10

Leave a Reply

