The Golden Globe Awards 2015

So yesterday everybody’s third favourite film award show happened. So if you didn’t watch it or just have like two or three minutes to kill, here are all of the film awards with some added pseudo analysis from myself.

Best Picture

  • Boyhood
  • Foxcatcher
  • The Imitation Game
  • Selma
  • The Theory of Everything

And the Globes are off to a flying start, with not only the right decision, but also the one I predicted.

Best Actress

  • Julianne Moore (Still Alice)
  • Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)
  • Reese Witherspoon (Wild)
  • Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)
  • Jennifer Aniston (Cake)

I totally called this one as well you guys. I am on fire. Two out of two. I’ve not even seen it, but I knew she’d win.

Best Actor

  • Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)
  • Steve Carell (Foxcatcher)
  • Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game)
  • David Oyelowo (Selma)
  • Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)

I don’t think anyone is surprised by this, and rightly so. Eddie Redmayne is absolutely superb.

Best film (Musical or Comedy)

  • Into the Woods
  • Birdman
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • St Vincent
  • Pride

Honestly, I thought Birdman would win this. But I am very pleased to see The Grand Budapest Hotel get some recognition, because I did adore it.

Best Actress in a Musical/Comedy

  • Julianne Moore (Maps to the Stars)
  • Amy Adams (Big Eyes)
  • Emily Blunt (Into the Woods)
  • Helen Mirren (The Hundred Foot Journey)
  • Quevenzhane Wallis (Annie)

I couldn’t call this one, but I’m pleased to see Amy Adams win something, because she is consistently fantastic.

Best Actor in a Musical/Comedy

  • Michael Keaton (Birdman)
  • Bill Murray (St Vincent)
  • Ralph Fiennes (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
  • Christoph Waltz (Big Eyes)
  • Joaquin Phoenix (Inherent Vice)

Called this one as well. Having now watched 3 of the above, I would probably give the award to Michael Keaton as well.

Best Animated Film

  • The LEGO Movie
  • How to Train Your Dragon 2
  • Big Hero 6
  • The Book of Life
  • The Boxtrolls

What? Are you serious Golden Globes? And it was all going so well. I am genuinely a little outraged.

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Ida
  • Force Majeure
  • Gett: The Trial of Viviane Amsalem
  • Tangerines
  • Leviathan

I also called this one as well guys. I should have put money into this.

Best Director

  • Ava DuVernay (Selma)
  • Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
  • Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu (Birdman)
  • David Fincher (Gone Girl)
  • Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Although (as I’m sure all of you will remember) when the nominations were announced I said I’d go for Wes, I did then actually watch Boyhood and I instantly changed my mind. So that counts as me calling this one as well.

Best Original Score

  • The Imitation Game
  • The Theory of Everything
  • Gone Girl
  • Birdman
  • Interstellar

Meh, I mean it was quite good, but it wasn’t as exciting as Interstellar, nor as interesting as Birdman. So a little disappointed with this one, but oh well.

Best Supporting Actor

  • Robert Duvall (The Judge)
  • Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)
  • Edward Norton (Birdman)
  • Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
  • J.K. Simmons (Whiplash)

I totally called this one as well. Personally I would have given it to Ethan Hawke, but I knew J.K was going to win.

Best Supporting Actress

  • Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)
  • Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year)
  • Keira Knightley (The Imitation Game)
  • Emma Stone (Birdman)
  • Meryl Streep (Into the Woods)

I predicted Meryl Streep, but I am so so pleased Patricia Arquette won. She fully deserved it.

If you enjoyed that, just you wait for the Oscars.

Leave a Reply

